The beginning of the Way of the Cross through Šiluva pinewood is at the sixteenth kilometer of the road Raseiniai-Šiluva, 4 km away from Katauskiai.

Next to the sign “Tytuvėnų regioninis parkas” (“Tytuvėnai Regional Park”), on the left side of the road we see a forest site marked by 3 wooden crosses.

The length of the road through Šiluva pinewood to the Chapel of the Apparition is 2.5 km.

These wayside shrines serving for the Way of the Cross were erected and consecrated in 2013, commemorating the Year of Faith and the 600th anniversary of Samogitian Baptism.

What is the Way of the Cross?

The Way of the Cross is a processional route that emerged as a way to retrace Via Dolorosa (“The Sorrowful Way”) in Jerusalem. According to the tradition, the first Way of the Cross on the streets of Jerusalem was walked by his mother Mary.

Later on, pilgrims who came to the Holy Land started to walk the Way. When it became dangerous to travel to Jerusalem which was occupied by Muslims, the Franciscans initiated the establishment of a 14-station long Way of the Cross in the majority of churches. These stations symbolize the route towards Jesus Christ’s Passion from sentence to death by Pontius Pilate to the crucifixion and burial.

The Passion of Jesus is not simply and event of the past, representing what happened in Jerusalem two thousand years ago. His Passion is an everlasting mystery of the Church. Therefore, pilgrims are invited to come to Šiluva and walk a few kilometers on foot and reflect on the way towards the Resurrection, asking for the courage to go this way in our lives.

Stations of the Way of Cross

Station 1 – Jesus is condemned to death
Station 2 – Jesus is laden with the Cross
Station 3 – Jesus falls for the first time
Station 4 – Jesus meets his Blessed Mother
Station 5 – Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus to carry the cross
Station 6 – Veronica wipes the face of Jesus
Station 7 – Jesus falls beneath His cross, the second time
Station 8 – Jesus consoles the women of Jerusalem
Station 9 – Jesus falls beneath His cross the third time
Station 10 – Jesus is stripped of His garments
Station 11 – Jesus is nailed to the cross
Station 12 – Jesus dies on the cross
Station 13 – Jesus is taken down from the cross
Station 14 – Jesus is laid in the Holy Sepulchre